Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 5th, 2009


The drinking and popping pills that began at age 12 continued through the middle teen years and accelerated.  Finding  my grandfather in the running car where he took his own life tore apart the fragile  facade I had managed to piece together to get through the days.  I wanted out and I couldn’t get to age 18 fast enough. 

Entering high school was  anticlimactic.   I had little interest in grades and did just enough to get through without failing.    I joined the drama group which was a huge step away from the shy, overwhelmed girl I actually was.  I was intent on forcing myself out of  the prison I had dwelled in for most of my life.   I met a girl that was almost as wild as me and skipped classes to go with her and her boyfriend to smoke pot and drink. 

It was a tumultuous time, the emergence of the hippie lifestyle, Woodstock, anti-war demonstrations,  LSD and Vietnam.  It was the perfect time to turn 18, reject anyone who attempted to control me and walk out of my parent’s house.   I had just celebrated my birthday a few days ago.  We were eating dinner and  a difference of opinion between me and my parents turned serious.  I remember getting up from the table, going to me room, throwing a few things into a backpack and without a word marching past the dinner table and out the door.   I had waited a long time for this and it felt like a new beginning.

Truth was it would be many years before I had any memory of the  extent of the evil committed against me throughout childhood.   The damage that was done, however, could not be suppressed and walking out of my parent’s house wouldn’t  free me from it’s iron grip.

Read Full Post »


As my brothers and I grew older we were “let in on” the family secrets.   As the adults talked, we weren’t asked to leave the room anymore when the “saltier” topics would arise.  It was a rite of passage in our family.  We’d listen and learn, but we knew not to ask any further questions while everyone was there.  If we wanted to know more, we could ask my mother later on when we were alone.  This was how I found out that my grandfather was a “womanizer” from a young age.  That’s the word used in the 1st half of the twentieth century for a Don Juan or a philanderer.  I can’t think of a modern day word that means the same thing,  but bottom line is he was out to get sex anywhere he could.   There were a lot of  family secrets and it turned out that most of them were about my grandfather.

Read Full Post »